Some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A number of people believe that offenders should be kept in prison for a long period because it will help to mitigate the rate of felonies. Although punishing criminals have some advantages, there are other remedies to tackle such problem. The forthcoming article will discuss the entire subject prior to my extent of agreement or disagreement. Firstly, the main benefit of giving lifetime imprisonment is that it generates fear in a criminal's mind. In other words, if a person is already aware of the intensity of punishment before the commitment of any offence, it will discourage him from becoming a criminal. For instance, in the UAE, rapist or murderers are sent to jail for a long time and in that place, they get mentally or physically abused by the judicial authority as a result, people think twice to commit a crime in society as they are aware of the consequences of doing crime. However, there are many other solutions, which assist to control the offence rate in the community is that government should be given counselling session to criminals as well as motivated to do other works in life. Specifically, Government motivates offenders to make them aware enough that they have the potential to do good works, that will help them to earn money in their life, For example, if government provide jobs to criminals after they get evacuated subsequently, they become busy in their work that helps to devote their mind. Therefore, applying this solution helps to control crime in the world. Lastly, having discussed the topic at length, I agree up to some extent that giving lifetime imprisonment is not a permanent solution. On the contrary, other remedies are beneficial to diminish the rate of violations.