Some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A portion of citizens considers that condemn times in confinement should be extended for convicts in order to decrease the crime rate. In this essay I will provide reasons that support why I disagree with the idea of incarceration periods must be longer. To begin with, Maintaining felons in lockup represents a considerate expense for the state. For example, Jails have to provide them with accommodation, food, clothes, health, training, security and so on. Moreover, In the detention,centres staff expenses also increase in order to control and run the establishment. Thus, The government taxes will be increased to manage the budget for the jail and all those expenditures coming from people's taxation could be invested in more relevant issues pertaining to the city. Additionally, Individuals deprived of their liberty are not able to contribute economically to their nation, on the contrary, they become a burden to their rehabilitation activities such as workshops, lectures and training in different subjects in order that it allows them to reintegrate into the working force once they are released while they are still on a productive age. In conclusion, I categorically disagree with incrementing the terms in prison for felons since it might cost significant amounts of money coming from taxpayers that could be used for the benefit of the city as well as it prevents the prisoners from rehabilitating at an age that still permits them to contribute to their community.