In some parts of the world, people have become more focused on themselves than their communities. What problems can this situation cause and how can they be solved?

In contemporary society, more and more people prefer to more think of themselves than their surroundings. I will try to explain the reasons and consequences of these phenomena in this essay. I think that the reasons for this process come from the basis of modern capitalist society. In fact, we are living in a society in which personal wealth is raised to the rank of supreme virtue. Personal richness is wide exalted and personal poverty is criticized by the present media. However, the individual can lose a lot of other qualities in the chasing of personal well-being. On the other hand, in the past, in the time of communist society in our country, the people paid more attention to their surrounding than themselves. All the people were involved in multiple social organizations such as pioneers, Komsomol, different hobbies societies, sports sections and a lot of others. Personal wealth was condemned but personal development and the benefit for society were exalted in the first place. Nevertheless, as we know, the personal initiative was suppressed by the authorities in such a society. This fact and a lot of other disadvantages led to the collapse of the Soviet Union in the end. In my opinion, in term of the solution to this problem, the government should promote the ideas of common well-being rather than personal wealth through the media and development of youth social organization. In conclusion, although personal richness is important, society development is impossible without positive cooperation among people.