Climate change is a phenomenon that affects countries all over the world. Many people strongly believe that it is the responsibility of individuals, rather than corporations and government, to deal with this problem. To what extent do you agree?

Since the industrial revolution humankind is deteriorating our world and making its temperature rise each year. Currently, we are more aware than ever of the side effects of it, which makes us ask ourselves who is responsible for it and who should take action. I strongly believe that we will only see it changes if our authorities and great industry conglomerates take responsibility and shift the way it is today. Firstly, the major impact done to global warming comes from multinational companies. For instance, even if a massive amount of individuals change their culture to an environmentally friendly aspect it will not compare to what an unregulated company can do. In other words, the enormous quantity of carbon dioxide produced by burning fossil fuels to operate big corporations is too far away from what individuals can do changing their daily lives. Therefore, it will only be significant if actions are made by the great villains, the industry. Secondly, individuals on their own will not do expressive changes unless the government takes charge. For example, a basic issue such as recycling garbage is only achievable if authorities invest in campaigns and equipment to work properly. Furthermore, to cease the excessive use of oil by companies the government must imply hard taxes in order to change their source of energy to renewable ones. Thus, without the help of authorities the individual person cannot do effective changes. In conclusion, I believe that everyone should do an effort in order to tackle the climate change issue. However, it will only be successful if major companies and our government take serious actions in favour of our environment.