Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, social media is increasing its popularity with the general population. Although personal information being shared on the web can have negative effects. This essay will shed light on some pros and cons of the use of social media. Firstly, it is believed that social media is a magnificent tool that has been a point of no return when talking about ways people communicate. Recent statistics have shown that people get in touch with each other 90% more efficiently than what the previous generation used to do. There is no doubt that communication paths have evolved dramatically thanks to the web and social media. On the other hand, the use of technology has not only become a security risk for our generations but also a safety one. A recent BBC report spoke about how people cards are being wrongly used by scammers while using social media or when trying to purchase products from marketing campaigns shown by the most popular social websites. however, in many of these cases, the scam could have been prevented by following some of the online purchases advice shared by Facebook as well as Instagram. To sum up, although there is some risk of using social media and the web, the benefits outweigh the negative aspects. In my opinion, a key point to make our social network experience more enjoyable and safe would be to avoid sharing personal information in places where the access is public and to read reviews before trusting an online shop. In my personal experience, following these steps I have never been involved in an unpleasant circumstance.