Some people argue that governments should make laws regarding people’s nutrition and food choices to improve public health while others contend that this is the freedom of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, people, particularly children and adolescents are more interested to intake junk food, causing many health hazards. Resultantly, whereas some individuals claim that governments ought to impose a draconian code so that citizens could choose only healthy food, others contend that enforcing legislation regarding the selection of meal would definitely fringe the right to freedom. I, too, wholeheartedly feel that as a human being, every person has the right to select what to eat and how to improve his or her fitness. Levying laws pertaining to people’s nutrition and food selection is conduce to making healthy residents, resulting in reducing pressure on a country’s healthcare system. In other words, if people of a state consume only nutrient-dense items, they do not suffer from any fatal diseases, such as cancer, diabetes, cardiovascular disorder, to name but a few, which in turn, reducing the extravagant cost of public well-being. To cite an example, the Japanese are not allowed to eat nutrient-poor food openly in public spots since 1995. Now, they are the most salubrious citizens in the world and they spend a very insignificant amount on their treatment. In order to, therefore, build a healthy nation, it is imperative to make act regarding individuals nutrition and foodstuff choices. Plausible though it may seem that law can contain a person’s food habit, it is worth arguing that governments should not take any strides that would break the human right because an individual is solely responsible to improve his or her well-being. To be more precise, a person can choose many other ways, namely, doing workouts, weekly diet, to mention but a few with a view to keeping him or her fit as a fiddle. Hence, it is the individual decision in which way one would improve one’s physical strength inasmuch as avoiding fast food or other items like that is not only the solution to stay salutary. To exemplify, in Britain, people eat more junk food but they do not suffer from serious ailments because they do exercise regularly. In conclusion, legislation can limit food habit, admittedly, but these laws violate the right of human. Thus, I unequivocally buttress the stand of not imposing laws about meal selection.