Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others, however, disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is common in today’s business world that most candidates are required to provide personal and private information, such as interest and marriage status. The hobbies and marriage information, in some people’s view, is a significant part of privacy, should not be indicated when they are applying jobs. However, others claim that this type of message is beneficial and thus should be included in interviews. From my perspective, I strongly support the latter one due to the following reasons. It sounds reasonable for some people who are reluctant to provide personal situation to the employers, as it may cause discrimination among employees. Specifically, some human resource manager may not choose a married woman despite her professional knowledge and skills perfectly fit for this position. Since married females are eligible to apply for paid maternity leaves and may have more distractions from families and children caring, many companies are avoiding supporting married females. Moreover, knowing some habits and interests is fertile when locating a job. It is the educational background and working experience that affect the employers’ decisions when they making an offer. It is useless for candidates to indicate their hobbies and interests if they are not qualified for the position. However, contrary to these opinions aforementioned is my perspective that by sharing more personal details, both employers and employees harvest benefits. Undoubtedly, hobbies can reflect one’s personalities to some extend, which is efficient to make the employer know whether your personalities are suitable for the post they offer. For example, a man who loves hiking, cycling and playing basketball presents a sense of outgoing and energy, by contrast, a woman who enjoys painting, reading and writing calligraphy may be a patient and gentle person. In this situation, the leaders may choose this man as a sales representative and hire this female as an administrative assistant because of their different quality and job requirements. Therefore, the companies may master more information about the candidate and make the right choice. Also, the job-seekers get a higher chance of success because they provide more personal details, which can stand for their valuable characteristics. In conclusion, although providing private details may cause some negative consequences, such as discrimination, I truly believe that both leaders and job seekers will reap advantages. Only by knowing the candidate well in many aspects can employers fully evaluate the qualifications of the candidate.