Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. if these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. in your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so, how?

The power of communication is what makes humans unique, and since we had mastered this, mankind began to develop rapidly. That is why I believe that we need to have a universal language such as English, however, we should maintain regional tongues as well, because they are the sheer culture of elder communities with the knowledge that would be lost if they are not taught to other people. First of all, in the world of international business English is the most spoken language. This happens because is an easy idiom to learn and all paramount corporations if not owned by English speaker nations, they do trades with them. Furthermore, a great share of the world know the tongue and makes tourism around the world more enjoyable. Therefore, I agree that is important to learn this language at school because it will be useful later in life. Likewise, regional dialects are necessary as well, because with them lives ancient knowledge. For example, indigenous tribes learned about the healing properties of plants and not knowing how to communicate with them we lose a great number of different medicines. Thus, local authorities ought to create tertiary courses with lost dialects, and people who wanted to be specialized in the field could ensure that these ancient cultures do not die. In conclusion, language is the most important asset humankind have. In other words, we should not only have a universally spoken idiom but still keep alive all ancient ones. This way we would develop faster and history and culture would not die.