In cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Nowadays, one of the major issues of concern across the globe is heavy traffic in metropolitan areas. It has increased at a high pace in last few years causing many problems. This essay will highlight some of the causes of this problem and what can be done in order to improve it. Firstly, the increase in population is one of the reasons for a steep rise in the number of vehicles on the road. For instance, a good percentage of people are well-versed financially and can afford their personal vehicle. They prefer commuting on their own, thus adding to the increase in traffic. Secondly, the public transport in few nations does not provide connectivity, due to which the people of that country tend to use their personal vehicles. To illustrate, the developing nations do not offer connectivity, leaving any choice for the people who wish to commute inter-state. Nevertheless, as a solution, the authorities should define some rules in order to control the usage of personal vehicles. For example, in New Delhi, all the people tend to follow odd and even rule, wherein vehicles with odd numbers are allowed to move in the city on certain days and vehicles with even number on other days. It actually has proven to be helpful in controlling the traffic of the city. Additionally, the public transport should also be improved so that more and more people can access it easily. Furthermore, citizens of all the nations should also act responsibly by sharing rides while travelling to a common destination when using their personal vehicles. In conclusion, allocating an annual budget for the improvement of public transport facilities to ensure better connectivity can help in controlling the traffic. Also, all the states need to implement some set of rules and make sure people should follow them religiously.