Large companies should pay higher salaries to CEOs and executives compared to other workers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that company CEOs and executives should receive much larger salaries than other employees in a company. This view suggests that people in positions of power, whether it is deserved or not should be highly compensated, which I find highly unconvincing. The idea that people who hold the highest positions in a company somehow deserve salaries that supersede the average company salary by 5 to 25 times is deeply unjustifiable. It is hard to accept the notion that people should be rewarded based on their hierarchical position, as opposed to the amount of work they contribute or valuable knowledge or skills they possess. It seems to me that people should receive a salary that is completely correlated with the amount of effort they dedicate to a company or organization or that people should be compensated on the amount of time they contribute or for how essential their work or skills or knowledge is for the company. For example, a virtually absent CEO or executive should not be paid 20 times the amount a talented, hardworking employee receives. Furthermore, people who usually acquire the most powerful positions in companies usually do not do so based on their effort. In other words, it is usually the case that people acquire such positions on the basis of their contacts and connections which usually are indicators of a privileged upbringing and social class. Another aspect to consider is that most of the time company CEOs and executives own a certain amount of their company ’s shares, sometimes CEOs are the majority shareholders, which would ultimately unfairly impact their salaries. In conclusion, the implication that company CEOs and executives should be paid a substantially greater amount than other workers is quite wrong, in any case it is hard to accept that such an argument could be fairly justified.