GOVERNMENT INVESTMENT IN THE ARTS SUCH AS MUSIC AND THEATRE, IS A WASTE OF MONEY. GOVERNMENTS MUST INVEST THIS MONEY IN PUBLIC SERVICES INSTEAD. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE WITH THIS STATEMENT?

Government investment in the arts is debatable. Some people argue that government should priotize investment in public services, while others argue that government investment in the arts such as music and theatre is a waste of money. This essay will discuss the positive impact of government's investment in the arts. First of all, government investment in the arts leads to massive employment. Lots of people are employed in the music and theatre scene due to government support. Additionally, the governement benefits directly as well in terms of taxes and social security contributed to the country. In other words, the government is helping to grow the economy. For example; thousands of people are employed in London's West End as actors, producers, cleaners, extras and numerous other jobs related to the theater because the governement supports the sector. In short, government investment in the arts is beneficial because it leads to employment. Secondly, government investment in the arts provides a source of entertainment for people. Music and theatre provides avenues for people to relax and enjoy themselves. If music venues such concert halls and theatres were not available for people, they would be more depressed and sad people. For instance, a recent study published in the Journal of Science, demonstrated that music and general entertainment contribute seventy percent to our overall happyness in life. Therefore, governement investment in the arts is good due to the fact that it provides a source of entertainment. In conclusion, this essay agreed to a large extent that government investment in the arts is necessary. This was demonstrated by the fact that it leads to massive employment and provides a source of entertainment for people.