In countries all over the world, the volume of road traffic is increasing at a faster rate than new roads are built. What are the causes of this problem? What are some potential solutions?

Recently, because of the pandemic, individuals are forced to stay at home; therefore, traffic have been decreased in about a year. However, before this situation occurs, actually the speed of an increase in the amount of vehicle that was on the road outnumbered its construction of new roads. In the following essay, I will argue its reason and viable solution. First of all, slowness of the construction of new ways might be at the root of the phenomenon. Even though more and more people ride a vehicle than before and the demand for an increase in the capacity of roads rises, it is impossible to do so immediately because there are a lot of steps to build roadways. It is easier to happen that many people are influenced by something and start driving a car because it is a change in people ’s consciousness. On the other hand, it is never easy to actually increase things physically. Secondly, it seems to be there is only way to solve this problem: it is to give up on building more roadways. As more are built, the more people will want to drive. For example, assume that a place in the countryside where there were no pavements before is being built. Then, what might happen is that more people will be able to ride in vehicles more comfortably, and the amount of traffic will rise. In conclusion, growth in people ’s demand for riding a car exceeds the speed of construction because the latter is not fast enough. Furthermore, there might be no possible solution because as roadways are built, the amount of traffic will enlarge.