Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the constant growth of civilization, our mother nature is facing various problems nowadays. Although there are debated views regarding the same, some feel the extinction of numerous species of living beings are the main issue which should be given the most importance. I, however, believe that there are other matters which are more severe than the loss of few particular species which I will discuss in this essay. Indeed, several types of animals and plants have been extinct with the changes in environment. This can be best explained by referring to Darwin’s theory of ‘The survival of the fittest’, which means the climate changes influence the changes in the body structures or the characteristics of animals or plants. The theory further says that the species which fails to cope with the changes in the atmosphere, however, unfortunately get extinct. Species such as Dinosaurs, for example, got extinct for the reason abovementioned. This nevertheless, is inevitable even without any detrimental effects on the environment. Another group, including me, believes that there are several other problems which are more important. Certainly, global warming is one of them. The ice in both North Pole and South Pole is melting at an alarming rate due to the increasing temperature worldwide, resulting in an increase in the water level in oceans. Many beaches in the southern part of India, for instance, have gone underwater for the same. Another major environmental issue on the current date is air pollution. The pollutants in the emission from the factories and the fumes from the cars on the road are causing air pollution at a threatening rate, which directly causing severe respiratory diseases to the humankind. In my opinion, these issues are more severe and need immediate measures to be curbed. In conclusion, the loss of a variety of flora and fauna are definitely one of the major issues caused by climate changes. Nevertheless, I personally feel the problems like global warming and air pollution have more detrimental effects on all sorts of living beings on today’s earth.