The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The use of vehicle has been on rise ever since the invention of the first car. Vehicles have made our lives easier in various aspects and have been used for transportaion of good as well as to travel to different locations. Nowadays, people like have their own vehicle and prefer to travle by it on a daily basis. Although it has proven to be a boon to our society, there are some demrits to it. It is agreed that alternative forms of transport should be encouraged by governments by introducing laws to control car ownership and use. Analysing its negative impact on environment and increase of traffic on roads will prove this. In today's world, people prefer to have their own vehicle. Due to the increase in car ownership, people are less likely to use public transport and prefer to travel by their own vehicle more. This has increased the count of vehicles on road and hence increased the air pollution. Air pollution has negative impact not just on environment but also on human beings. It has detrimental effects on immune system and therefore render us more vulnerable to other diseases.