Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

In a contemporary world, not only positive aspects increase. Recently, more garbage has been produced by people regardless where they live. In this essay I will outline some reasons that support this topic and also, I will discuss some solutions which the government should take into account to tackle this problem. To begin with, the population is growing and inevitably the rubbish that everyone produces daily. It happens because each person has basic daily necessities which contribute to increase the amount of trash. In other words, they need to eat and once they do, there is a food container that is going to be thrown away. Another important point is that the more shopping a person does, more waste they produce. Consumerism has increased enormously in a manner that it is not proportional to the amount of growing population. One good example is online shopping which all items must be well packaged for shipping and undoubtedly it uses more plastic. Then, if a person shops more, they will have more rubbish. Fortunately, there are some solutions to tackle these issues. One of them is that governments need to invest more money on improving recycling methods. Therefore, more industries will be capable to support a country’s necessity and additionally, they can contribute for better solutions once they receive certain support. Furthermore, a short-term action would be augmenting taxes for all kind of packaging. Thus, each place where provides bags for customers or stores that use several materials to deliver an item, they will pass this financial debt for the final customer. Once a person feels that they are being financially impacted, they might change their behaviour. Hence to conclude, worldwide population is growing and with that, the daily waste these people produce. Unfortunately, this growth is challenging to handle, but the State can interfere and help solving this matter by investing more in innovative recycling ways and taxing more the usage of plastic bags.