In recent times, economic growth has helped many become richer, both in developed and developing countries. However, those in developed countries are not as happy as they were in the past. Why is this? What can be learned from this?

It has been suggested by some that people have been getting richer as the flourish of the economy around the world, while residents living in the developed nations are getting unhappy than they were. This is an appalling result of the change of lifestyle. The lesson should be gained from this trend which is money is unable to satisfy all demands. First of all, most individuals, particularly young generations, would feel they have been spending less leisure time with their family and friends, thus resulting in a lack of intimacy. The reason is that after working, they also need to stay back to do extra work in order to earn more money sometimes. Besides, when they have spare time, they are so exhausted that they just stay alone instead of interacting with others. As a result, they do not have enough friends or family members to share their feelings, which contributes to loneliness and unhappy. For example, most office-workers who are working and living in New York say that although more money they are able to earn nowadays through overloads work, they feel more anxious and upset than they were. The detailed understanding of this dreadful situation is that money is not powerful. Everyone should enjoy their life by communicating with each other to satisfy their emotional and mental needs while working hard to follow the rapid developing speed, otherwise, individuals will be depressed. As an illustration, some successful businessmen point out that previously they paid their all energies and time into working to earn more money. However, when their dreams have been come true, they did not feel satisfaction as nobody can share their happiness, which causes their emotions are empty. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinions about the reason why people are getting unhappy despite the fact that they have more money. I think that the different lifestyle is the main reason, and people should adjust their opinions about earning money and enjoying life to suit this change.