Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that interviewers have the right to know job seekers’ university backgrounds, however their personal information, like hobbies and marital status, make an argument. While some people reckon that these questions are irrelevant, I would argue that in some cases such information will determine the best candidate. On the one hand, private questions about prospective employees in the application step are likely to have negative impacts. This is because candidates will be judged based on much less crucial factors than their general qualifications and education certificates. For instance, a highly qualified worker with special skills, who is married, could likely be discriminated against from a suitable post with more than 50 per cent required travelling. As a consequence, the corporator might face potential work issues if he hires another person, who has less convenient skills, to fill the position. On the other hand, I believe that it is vital to put into consideration such personal information like family status and other interests. The main reason for that could be determining the capability of a candidate to commit to the job requirements. For example, a married truck driver, who transports products across borders for long distances, would be less comfortable leaving his family behind for a long period. Not only that but he could rather prefer not to put his life at any kind of risk for the sake of his children. Therefore such positions in global companies would be more fit for single candidates. Another beneficial question to ask is the job-relevant interests. The employees’ productivity and perfection would decrease if they were put in jobs with duties that do not attract their full attention. In conclusion, Although personal questions could damage a chance to work, I believe employers should take them into account as it could reflect on the corporations overall revenue.