Many people today find that the cost of attaining a University-level education is extremely high for the students and their families. What are the causes of this situation, and how can governments, universities and the students themselves overcome the problem?

In this day and age, the young generation often has a deep desire to attend University after graduation from their high school, though the expense involved can be pricey for them and their families. The causes of this appear to be focused on two areas, and a number of solutions also appear to be possible. To begin with causes, perhaps the major factor is the advance of university’s infrastructures. This can be seen in the way that these days, a variety of private universities tend to concentrate on innovating their modern facilities in order to meet the demands of their students who regard as researchers. Another vital element may frequently be the increasing cost of living in some countries, meaning that students and their families have to pay directly for University fees and also the cost of day to day life such as utility bills, food, rent and so on. These expenditures are almost overwhelming for youngsters who are undergraduate. Turning to possible solutions, an obvious step would be the hands of government, if these issues are expected to be tackled, the government need to make a change in their policies toward education as well as enhance subsidy for universities. A further method may be for the universities to offer more shorter courses, if these courses were available, it could reduce the problem of living expenses in certain cases. Finally, for adolescents, it is essential to have some funds in reserve for their education expenditure. To sum up, the factors of funding and cost of living appear to be the principal causes, and the solutions should involve coordinated action by the state, the institutions and the individuals.