Alcohol abuse is becoming more and more common in many countries. What are some of the problems associated with alcohol abuse, and what are some of the possible solutions?

Alcohol abuse is increasing alarmingly in many nations. Although the excess consumption of alcoholic beverages poses a grave danger to society, their effects can also be combated successfully. This essay will address various problems caused by alcohol abuse on society, and suggest some solutions to the problems. Alcohol abuse causes a multitude of problems for countries and communities. Firstly, it triggers anti-social behaviour among people. In fact, people tend to lose their inhibitions when they have drunk excessive amounts of alcohol. This will undoubtedly escalate the chances of drunken brawls or scuffles, and people doing silly and dangerous things that they will probably regret later. Secondly, alcohol abuse is a threat to road safety. Under the influence of alcohol, drivers are likely to lose their orientation and spatial skills, and as a result, road accidents will possibly surge owing to their distorted decision-making abilities. Despite these problems, the menace of alcohol can be fought. First of all, educational institutions such as schools should hold regular seminars teaching adolescents the adverse effects of excessive drinking to on their their body and society as a whole. Next, governments should endorse advertising campaigns that can relay messages of harmful effects of alcohol abuse through powerful visual aids and words, which may instil a sense of responsibility for individuals to take seriously of this problem. In conclusion, although the problem of alcohol abuse may seem impossible to eliminate, there are concrete steps that can be taken to mitigate the effects of alcohol abuse on society. The danger from intoxication is too ever-present to neglect.