Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at a risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Language is how we express ourselves. There is no doubt that learning a native language is vital for any individual, however, it is equally important to learn English as a second language. This essay will narrate two main reasons why learning English, along with, your own mother tongue is so important. The first key reason for this is that usually all high standard research books are written in English. If someone wants to undertake advanced studies, they have to read the best available material on that particular topic. For instance, the official language in Pakistan is Urdu, whereas, in the Supreme Court and the High Court all judgments are delivered in English. Similarly, how can you master physics without reading the work done by Einstien and Newton? It can be argued that these books or materials can be translated into other languages, but if someone plans to study in a top-notch university, a high level of English language skill is required. In addition, all big corporations use English as a mode of communication. The reason for this is companies have offices around the globe, some teams work from the USA others are sitting in India or the Philippines. If a person chooses not to learn English, he may never be able to work for a multinational organisation. Therefore, it is imperative for career growth and progression that we are multilingual. In conclusion, I sincerely feel preserving your own language is important but learning a second language will pave a way to learn more, and grow in your career.