Technology like AI and Robotics are automating many human jobs and helping maximize company profits. However, this may result in a new wave of mass unemployment and the Government should step in to regulate these fields. Discuss both sides of this argument.

In the current times, with the expansive use of technological devices and systems, many enterprises make use of these to make work more efficient at lower costs. In consequence, rates of unemployment tend to increase, and some suggest that government intervention is crucial to regulate this situation. Firstly, this essay will look at the impact automated technology has on employment and secondly, how it has also pushed the development of new human skills and new jobs. On the one hand, it is a reality that artificial intelligence and robotics have eliminated many jobs. This is mainly due to the desire of companies to become more profitable. New technologies bring automation which increases processes efficiency and eliminates cost by reducing the number of employees. A good example is companies such as Amazon, where the acquisition of robots has made the arranging and shifting of products from one place to another more efficient. Moreover, fewer people are needed and profits had raised enormously. On the other hand, technological devices need human’s intelligence and the ability to exist. Automated machines need to be created, operated, and maintained by skilled humans. Actually, the same technology that eliminated many jobs also created others. For example, nowadays many industries have eliminated some job positions as assistants, telephone operators and cashiers, but with the newly acquired skills in informatics, industrial engineering, and robotics, other job opportunities in these fields have surged. In conclusion, automation will continue to be part of our everyday lives. Hence, rather than limiting its expansion people should acquire new skills. This way unemployment can be reduced.