Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that everyone is entitled to attend tertiary education and governments should cover higher education tuition for all students regardless of their socio-economic background. Personally, I disagree with the view that university education is free for all because this would have a negative impact on students and society as well. To begin with, a free-college policy is beneficial for students themselves. Students with a university degree will easily find a job, thus having a better life, especially people with difficulty conditions. Moreover, provision of free-of-charge education is advantageous for society. This policy will create a more educated workforce, therefore leading to a prosperous economy and civilized society. However, pursuing college without fee will have an adverse bearing on individuals and society in general. From an individual perspective, in fact, labor market has been more competitive. Therefore, if there are too many university graduates, college qualification will not ensure that they will have a job in the future. From a societal perspective, covering higher education tuition will put a strain on national budget. This leads to budget deficit, tax increase and reduced welfare. In conclusion, although university education without fee can actually bring some benefits to students and society, I believe that governments should not make it free for all students.