Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Entrepreneurship is considered a highly dignified and noteworthy occupation by a majority in the modern era compared to a well-paid job in a corporation. Government support, crowdfunding, social media promotions and business coaching are some of the contributors to this rising trend. Whereas, loss of capital and confidence are the major drawbacks of owning a trade. The major cause of this emergence is readily available options of funding as governments of most countries in the world are initiating steps to motivate small-scale business and startups by granting loans and providing required funds. For example, the program “Make in India” was introduced to provide small businesses with economic support. Another source of arranging capital for the owners is crowdfunding where various individuals interested in carrying a business idea forward invest in it. In addition, the prominence of social media nowadays has made the process of marketing and promotions really smooth and effortless. Furthermore, the affordability of an employment coach is also a major factor. Undoubtedly, there is a colossal number of self-acclaimed business coaches in the market who guarantee the success of a business by educating the individuals in the strategies and skills required to lead a venture. Consequently, the budding startups no longer fear the lack of business knowledge. For instance, “TheBadaBusiness.com” in India is assisting solopreneurs and other businesses by becoming their business coach and the service is really affordable. The major drawback of being your own boss is the risk involved in the success of the venture. If a business fails often not only the capital is lost but also the faith of the individuals is lost in their capabilities. Also, time and toil go in vain. Hence, millennial today are moving towards entrepreneurship due to accessibility of funding, promotional tools and business knowledge but, still they should be prepared for the risks involved.