Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think in today’s world subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Education is mandatory for all children for a better future, although there are debated views regarding which subjects to be prioritised. Some believe studies related to history are important, whereas others feel focusing on science and technology is more needful in today’s world. This essay will elaborate on both views and explain why I feel science and technology has more to contribute to a student’s life. Advocates of studying history with more importance often argue that it is absolutely necessary to know the roots of something to acquire knowledge about the same. Because how something came into existence and how it has evolved from time to time are something that influences the present usage of the same. The chronicles of the rituals of marriage prevalent in today’s society, for example, help us to understand the gradual changes that have led to today’s customary ceremonies related to the occasion. Nevertheless, despite this logic, study related to the past has little benefit towards a student’s career aspect. Another group, including me, however, believes that science and technology are more important than historical studies. The primary reason behind this view is the indispensable effects of technology in the modern world. From opening our eyes in the morning to going to bed at night, science has been a part of our life throughout. Therefore, the understanding of physics and chemistry, for instance, since adolescence would have a definite contribution towards the development of new technologies for a better lifestyle. Adding to this, the studies of science and technology further provide learners with various career opportunities. In a survey conducted by McGill University, aspirants conveyed that the research areas such as biology, computer science and chemical engineering are the most popular fields to offer lucrative pay packages in future. Certainly, this can improve the future of the pupils in numerous ways. In conclusion, all subjects are essential for learning in schooldays to acquire knowledge to build a career. Although many think history has the most importance, in my opinion, study related to science and technology should be given more focus in educational institutions. Because this will help students not only to get familiar with the subject matters since their teens but also provide them with more career opportunities.