'Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.' To what extent to you agree or disagree with the statement?

In the current times, with the increased use of technology and electronic devices, computer games have gained popularity amongst youngsters. Some argue that this activity should be limited, as it is seen as a waste of children´s time. I completely disagree with the argument that playing computer games must be prohibited to kids. This essay will discuss why the use of gadgets as a source of amusement can be beneficial, firstly, as they can help introverted people establish relationships and secondly, as they can serve as an education tool.  On the one hand, it is frequent to find introverted youngsters that feel uncomfortable when they have to interact in person with other peers. For these types of personalities establishing relations and sharing time through an electronic system might be easier. For instance, in games such as Pokemon, players initially have virtual teams, however, after some time they have to create groups that meet in person and together fulfil the game objectives. Thus, virtual games can be an option for shy children to start connexions and communication with other persons. On the other hand, it is more and more frequent that students are requested to complete tasks or assignments with a computer. Nowadays, there are applications and websites that have high-quality educational content. For example, the school my son attends has created an application where academic announcements are posted but also gives the students the opportunity to interact and play with others. This type of activities provide amusement and stimulate learning. Therefore, computer games can be seen as an ally and not an enemy for education. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the position that children´s time on computer games should be limited. This because they can offer a more comfortable environment for interaction and represent a positive stimulus for learning activities.