Medical services should be run by profit-making companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the matter of health care has become controversial. While some people are against the idea of these basic services being run by companies whose target is profit, many people favor the control of profit -seeking companies over medical services. Personally, I am not on the same side of corporation control over the health care system. This essay is aimed to explain the reasons behind the view that companies should not run the health care system. To start off, when health services are in the hand of people who want profit, citizens can be charged extremely high prices for simple things such as a visit to the physician. That is because companies put profit above all, so they will not care about the quality of the services they give to the general public. To illustrate, in America where most healthcare belong to private companies, the cost for medicines and other services is much higher in comparison with that in European nations. Consequently, when American citizens experienced any health issue, they will not want to be admitted to a hospital or even call an ambulance due to the cost. Moreover, when the matter of health is in the hands of corporations, they will try their hardest to earn the most profit out of every products by reducing qualities. Fewer quality products can greatly decrease the cost for material and assembly. To give an illustration, millions of mechanical ventilation machines have been sent from China to India in the Covid-19 pandemic, some of whose components are replaced by lower quality, less expensive alternatives. Thirdly, with the control of corporations, the health care system will be monopolized by a small number of big companies, which limits the patients options for where and who they can be treated. As monopoly in health care prevents the emergence of a more efficient system, patients still have to pay more because there is no more options. To give an example, Johnson & Johnson holds a lead in developing medical devices, pharmaceuticals, and consumer packaged goods, with 2 more companies that control the health care systems in America. To summarize, due to the cost, quality, and monopoly of medical services and products, I am against corporations having control over the health care system. Nick, 12:33 PM Some countries have introduced a law to limit working hours for employees. Why is this law introduced? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development? A number of nations have imposed a law restricting the number of hours employees can spend at work. This limit is made because of the declining health of office workers. Personally, I believe that this law is a beneficial development. To start off, in recent years there is an increase in health problems caused by sitting too long in an office. The main cause of this is the lack of opportunities for any physical activities or exercises of office workers, which is due to overtime and long work hours. To illustrate, without any time for exercises, employees can suffer from obesity, joints inflammation, and cardiovascular diseases. Consequently, governments have to restrain the business hour to give employees enough time for exercises to maintain their well-being. Moreover, work-life balance is also crucial, as a lack of communication with family or friends can lead to psychological issues, which hinders both society and families. Having a chance to take care of themselves can boost the productivity of the workers significantly, as well as prolong their available work span. In addition to this, more time with their kids can greatly strengthen families bonds. Hours that must be spent in offices can be utilized for taking care children, as they require a lot of care. To summarize, imposing restraint on the duration of the office hour brings about many benefits in different aspects of societies. As workers have more time, they can do more exercise to maintain fitness and improve their relationships.