Many people believe that social networking sites have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, it is considered a necessity to stay connected to social sites like Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat etc, no matter, one is a teenager or an adult. This has led to some really adverse effects on personal as well as higher levels. I strongly agree with the statement that these sites are posing serious problems to us. Analysing the fact that they consume our energy and time and how they create an imbalance in our lives will certainly prove it. Firstly, the use of such social platforms is addictive and once you start connecting to them, it soon becomes your instinct to keep checking them. For example, if you have got Facebook on your cell phone, it will continuously send you notifications for activities like if someone is commenting on a post which you have liked or commented etc. Moreover, the students in the class as well as employees in a meeting continue checking the updates on these sites instead of focusing on important things. Therefore, they don't only waste their time but lost the energy in that too Secondly, staying online there make them disconnected from their surroundings, whether they are parents or friends. For instance, children sticking to their computers and chatting online with friends don't even bother to sit with the family. Hence, it causes a long term imbalance and void in their personal life and hence, there is often drift between these individuals and their families. In a nutshell, social networking sites are generating a high negative impact on our lives. It is agreed that such addictions are causing us severe harm in place of benefits. So there usage should be minimal in a controlled manner and well regulated in all the ways.