Today’s fresh food like vegetables or fruits travels thousands of miles from the rural areas or farms before it reaches customers in cities or urban areas. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

we live in a world, where we need food for survival more than anything. people who live in big cities do not get fresh vegetables or fruit while people who live in rural areas grow their own food so they get fresh vegetables and fruits. well, there is a plethora of reasons that why this is not good for city people. To begin with, Moving from one area to another take a long time and more often these trips are not good for freshly packed food. Firstly, there is a high chance of fruit or vegetables are going to get squished because of long-distance drive and by the, end people are going to products that are not good in quality. I still remember, I read somewhere, that we throw 20 tons of food approximately on an everyday basis which is a lot. Secondly, there is a chance of fruits or vegetables getting rotten or stale by the end of travel. which is the 2nd biggest reason for food shortage in certain areas of the country or province. In addition, these trips are not cheap at all. For instance, companies like Walmart, Food basic or Giant tiger spend an average of 300 thousand to 1 million dollars just for one province. To sum up this, I think it,s a chance for us to start growing our own food, so that we can not only consume fresh food but also save some money for tomorrow. I think Government also make agriculture subject necessary for all grades across Canada.