Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

For some people, the funds that governments invest in arts, such as music and theatre, are being wasted. They claim that this money should be used in public services. I could not disagree more with this assertion, as I think that arts and culture are needed in any society. In the following paragraphs, this discussion will be addressed. It is believed by a number of people that governments should stop funding arts and instead invest in other public services. However, entertainment is a basic human need, and different kinds of artistic movements like theatre or opera are a way to get entertained. Thus, it is not a waste of money to sponsor arts as they fulfil a public function that can be enjoyed by everyone. Just to mention an example, in Colombia, the city council of Bogota sponsors a big rock festival every year, which has become beloved for everyone because it is accessible for all, otherwise, many people would not have access to this kind of events. To complement, the art industry is huge and can be a great source of income for a city or a country. Cities like New York or LA, are well known for their art scene, it attracts thousands of tourist every year. In other words, instead of seeing arts as a wastage of money, they should be seen as an investment for the sake of the own country. If one nation starts to put more budget into the development of arts, and the improvement of venues, it may lead to an increase of tourists in the future, and even more, all the revenue and return can be used to amend local issues. To conclude, even though some people see the investment in arts as a nonsense, I strongly believe that it is a smart idea to fund all kind of arts. Arts are a form of entertainment, and the population need to have these activities in their free time. Besides, the revenue collected from the art industry can be used to resolve some of the country's issues.