Schools are spending more time teaching subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning different skills is fundamental for kids and teenagers in order to succeed in their professional lives, classes such as history and others are essential in school according to some people but, the essay will explain why schools should focus on developing student skills over teaching them theoretical subjects. First of all, the labour market requires candidates to be skilled in order to perform their jobs rather than employees that only know the theory but lack initiative. Therefore, a student who is trained in problem-solving, critical thinking, entrepreneurship and so on, will have more possibilities to be hired in a good position than another one who might be merely an academic connaisseur but lack the abilities to get the job done. For instance, knowing the year when the second world war took place is less relevant for a company than knowing how to resolve conflicts. Additionally, being highly trained in different skills makes a graduate an asset worth it for the company. A pupil that is already prepared to interact with other employees and communicates more efficiently as well as acting as a leader, will perform better at a job in comparison with those that lack such abilities. For example, a student that never learnt how to work as a team member while he was in school will struggle a lot a the moment when he is required to work on a project along with other co-workers. To summarise, learning different skills at primary and secondary institutions are vital for individuals in order to perform better and more efficiently at their workplace. Therefore, companies will value more and employee with a skill package than a candidate that only knows theory. That is why I radically agree with the fact that teaching abilities are more important than subjects such as history.