Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

It has been pointed out that the number of pupils who choose their major in science areas in their university is not sufficient in several nations at the moment. In my opinion, a high level of studying pressure and fewer job opportunity are the reasons for this appalling situation, and this trend is detrimental for social development. First of all, apart from a huge amount of paperwork needed to complete, students whose major is science subjects have to perform countless experiments to get a reasonable and reliable result. This heavy workload makes most science fans enrol in other courses when starting their university. Furthermore, compared with finance graduates, narrow career prospects are provided to science learners. For instance, students who have graduated in biology from RMIT say that normally they spent three days experimenting in their lab to get one number, and they also needed to write at least fifty thousand word paper per month. Besides, although they studied hard at university, they have not found a lucrative job to earn their livelihood. In addition, an reducing number of learners choosing science as a major has resulted in that countries develop at a slow rate in the science area. As not enough employees are working at research organizations, fewer fascinating and useful results can be get, which hampers countries’ growth in the science field. As an illustration, in China, due to fewer high school graduates enrolling in medical research in institutions, countless medicines to cure health issues have not been found yet, which is a hurdle to the national medical development. In conclusion, the stressful learning experience and the poor career perspective cause fewer students to learn science courses currently, and this situation has restricted the advancement of science for many countries.