Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

It has been pointed out that the number of pupils who choose their major in science areas in their university is not sufficient in several nations at the moment. In my opinion, a huge learning pressure and fewer job opportunities are reasons for this appalling situation, and this trend is detrimental for social development. First of all, apart from a vast amount of paperwork needed to complete, students who are learning science have to perform countless experiments. This heavy workload makes most of the fans of science enroll on other courses when starting their university. Furthermore, another cause of fewer school learners put their names on science courses is the narrow career prospects. As institutions for scientific research are limited, it is tough for science learners to find a decent job after finishing their education. For instance, students who have graduated in biology from RMIT say that normally they spent three days experimenting in their lab, and they also needed to write at least fifty thousand word paper per month. Besides, although they studied hard at university, they have not found a lucrative job to earn their livelihood. In addition, an reducing number of learners choosing science as a major has resulted in that the development of science has become slower for some countries. As not enough employees are working at research organizations, fewer fascinating results can be get, which hampers countries’ growth in the science field. As an illustration, in China, due to fewer high school graduates enrolling in medical research in institutions, countless much-needed medicines have not been found yet, which is a hurdle to the national medical development. In conclusion, the harsh learning conditions and the poor career prospects cause fewer students to learn science currently, and this situation has restricted the advancement of science for many countries.