The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Food is an essential and indispensable commodity in everyone's life, which is needed to survive on earth. But from ten decades, it has been observed that there is an increase in the body-weight of youth. This is maybe because of the increasing demand for junk food which creates a harmful effect on the body. In this modern era, the lifestyle has become more sedentary. One of the main reason children becoming fattier than before is the availability of fast foods and a range of ready to eat meals. Furthermore, teenager prefers to make their life easy, due to which they prefer unhealthy grain over a healthy home-cooked meal. For example, such as burger, sandwich, pizza and french fries. This fast cuisine includes toxic ingredients such as fats, salt and preservatives that do not add any nutrients, which are very vital for one body. Moreover, due to advancement, in information technology, kids are more inclined towards spending more time on electronic devices instead of playing outdoor games. To be more precise, watch television, play games on computers, surfing the internet and access social media. On the other hand, obesity leads to a negative impact on the human body. First and foremost, teenagers are more likely to suffer from chronic diseases like diabetes and high blood pressure. These conditions are life-threatening. Secondly, according to medical science, fat teenagers paradoxically have low immunity, which ultimately catches cold or fever when the weather changes. Thirdly, an increase in carcass weight eventually gives pressure on the legs, which leads to knee brace problems. Therefore it goes without saying that gaining weight can lead to several health problems. To recapitulate, children's obesity is mainly due to their calorie-rich diet and an inactive lifestyle. Additionally, it brings a variety of health disorder in the early stage of their lives.