Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

Nowadays visiting new places is easier and cheaper. Although, many countries have benefited from tourism, some people consider that this can have a negative effect in the city and its population. Generally speaking, tourism is an essencial asset for many countries and cities which would be damage without it. Many small places are receiving an extremely high number of tourists every year and this makes cities overcrowded. For example, in the different occasions I visited Venice the streets are always very busy and people need to wait to cross through small bridges. This situation could makes locals very stressed especially when they encounter big groups of tourists in every journey of your day. Environment is another big problem about this massive grow of the tourist sector, in fact while locals cares about the condition of their own towns many tourist do not show respect for the place they are visiting. For example, my family who lives in the seaside are often complaining that visitors who come to the beach leaving plastic bottle and waste of food in the sand. Although tourism can have bad impact in the lives of locals and the environment, at the same time many of these cities depend on tourist sector. Closing the door to tourists would cause a much higher damage to local businesses who live of that. For istance, in my town this would mean that hotels, restaurants and surf shops should close. This would general a huge economic crisis. In conclusion, we can say that tourism has a lot of negative aspect, although the high economic support that gives to some places overweight the disadvantages.