The internet is generally considered as a blessing for mankind. Do the advantages of it outweigh its disadvantages?

In an era of technological innovations and a rapidly moving lifestyle, indeed, the internet has been a blessing for humanity. However, it also has its own downside. This essay is an attempt to evaluate whether its advantages takeover its disadvantages. On the positive side, the internet has been a boon for the human race. To exemplify, it is a source of information, that is merely a click away. In more detail, the internet provides study material such as books, articles, and literature as well as online classes for students. Moreover, in recent circumstances due to the worldwide pandemic whole education system is dependent on the internet. In addition to that, E-commerce, E-banking, around the world communication, and even food can be ordered online. These and many more vital tasks can be performed smoothly and accurately with the help of the internet. On the adverse side, the rate of cybercrime and social bullying is increasing day by day. It also distracts children from building their career. The content portraying violation and pornography, which is not censored has a bad influence on children. Furthermore, all the facilities are provided at home and, that promotes a lethargic lifestyle, which may cause obesity in near future. As a matter of fact that, the internet has a wide range of accessibility, there are numerous cases of privacy invasion. Moreover, it is a child’s play for terrorist groups to hack into the internet, which is lethal for the world. Overall, the internet is a marvellous tool that makes daily life comfortable, easy and enjoyable. However, it also has significant disadvantages that can not be overlooked. Although, by imposing few restrictions, it can be used in a much productive way.