The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree ?

There is no doubt that technology has revolutionised the way people shop. While some individuals hold the view that, in the near future, shops in small towns would close, I would argue that this is rarely to occur as for the reasons provided below. To begin with the main cause, which contributes to people depending on local shops in their regions, is the need for purchasing daily grocery. This is because families often buy it on a daily basis, and if they decide to shop online, there would be a potential opportunity for the order to be delayed, and the products, especially fruits and fresh vegetables, might arrive spoilt and damaged. Another reason could be the tendency of some people to browse more than one shop to buy, considering the difference in prices and the expiry dates of products. Furthermore, the ability to access online stores and purchasing requires two vital things, which help the consumer to process the operation, and those would be a bank account with a valid credit card as well as easy access to the internet. In other words, many consumers find it difficult to surf the internet and hate to deal with banks, not only that but such services may not be affordable for everyone. An illustrative example is that elderly people usually face problems when utilizing websites, and the only purpose for them to be online would be reading news, which deemed to the lack of their skills on electronic devices. In conclusion, having explored the causes above, I want to reiterate my stance that the disappearing of local shops in small towns might not be a real argument. This is because the lack of internet skills and finance issues that could face customers.