Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued by some that teachers should not assign homework to school children while other’s think homework plays a key role in a juvenile’s education. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion on why homework is essential to the development of a child. Formal education is not the only tool that facilitates development of a child. Having no homework frees up a lot of time in a student’s life to explore other interests he/she may have, and they can use this time to learn new skills or even to play sports. A recent study shows that children who learnt to play instruments and those who were involved in sports at a young age, can grasp new concepts easily when compared to those who did not participate in extra curriculars. Homework is an essential part of the learning process because only practice can make a man perfect. Allotting tasks for students to complete at home only reinforces the concepts they are taught at school as most pupils may not grasp the teachings in the first go and even if they do, they tend to forget what they learnt quite soon. For instance, as a student, I only understood mathematics topics after I had solved multiple questions from a particular topic that were given to me to solve at home. To conclude, both views have their pros and cons, but, in my opinion, teachers should give students homework as it plays an important role in bridging the learning gaps in a child’s mind and helps them retain what they’ve learnt for prolonged periods of time.