Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages.

In recent times, most food vendors and consumable manufacturers are known to be in the practice of using food additives and preservatives in the production of goods as a result of tasty outcome and longer shelf life derived. However, the demerits associated with the use of these condiments outweigh the merits, both views would be further expatiated on. To begin with, the mixture of preservatives and colourings with diet predispose individuals to a bad health outcome as these contain no nutritional value, are rather toxic and could result in ailments such as cancer and hypertension. For example, my aunt routinely adds colour and excessive spice to her rice when cooking. She was advised against such action but did not heed correction. Consequently, she came down with colon cancer at the age of 50. Additionally, diet spends a longer period on shelves, as such, contain basically calories with no nutritional value predisposing people to obesity. Conversely, a few people in the food industry find it lucrative to add these chemicals to their products as the taste, colour and outcome of their edibles are improved, thus they make huge sales and great financial returns. For instance, my uncle who runs a drink company adds colour and flavour to his drink, this improves the taste and appearance, as, such he makes plenty of sales. In addition, whatever edible is produced has a longer duration when preservatives are added. In conclusion, despite the benefits of combining chemical substances with consumables to improve texture and duration,the risk far outweighs the benefit as a healthy state is far important than wealth.a