Some people believe that university education should focus on the skills of employment for the future. Others think they should focus on academic study only. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Education plays a vital role in everyone's life. It is argued by some that universities should aim towards providing students with practical skills required for a job, while others believe it should enrich students with information. In this essay, I will discuss both topics and give my opinion. On the one hand, equipping aspiring graduates with tools that make them employable serves the main reason most people opt to pursue studies. That is, to land a job. For instance, in recent times it has come to light that an increasing number of fresh out of college students are unemployed because they do not have job-specific skills that employers are looking for in a prospective candidate. Furthermore, the work a person gets determines the quality of life they are going to lead. On the other hand, teaching content that is derived from books is an essential part of the study. That is to say, paying attention to providing knowledge is the core purpose of education. Information is at the forefront of every aspect of life, without which, a person is rendered incapable of making suitable decisions that come in their path. In conclusion, while the employability of a person has become absolutely essential, knowledge is power. In my opinion, educational institutions should tailor their tutoring to strike a balance between delivering academic content, and also training that helps tutees in getting jobs.