Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be?Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

It is true that there is a preference by many for foreign films over domestically produced ones. However, while the big budgets and star power of foreign films prove a big draw at the box office, I believe that if domestic films were to receive more financial aid from governments, both national pride and consumer spending would increase. There are various reasons why film produced overseas are preferred over domestic efforts. For one thing, they usually have a big cost, and that means better special effects, cutting edge action scenes, and incredible film locations, and draws crowds to theatres. For another thing, the appeal of major actions stars still matters. Where the star power of big movie stars still provides a big draw at the global box office, lesser-known actors don’t have the same attraction. Finally, the globalisation of the movie industry means that overseas studios have the marketing cost to advertise globally. This increases the attractiveness of international film over lower-budget local ones. I believe that governments should give financial aid to local cinema industries. Most countries have the human resources and talent to create a notable picture. A competitive system wherein money is awarded only to the best scripts, and in which directors can learn from their mistakes, would evolve to produce a great picture over time. Well-received local cinema further increase national pride which results in greater social cohesion as well as more jobs. Moreover, it creates demand in domestic tourism to see where popular scenes were filmed. A case in point is the popular Taiwanese cinema Cape No.7 which is still proving a key draw for local tourists at key spots around the island. In conclusion, big budgets, star power, and marketing reach may be putting local movie industries in jeopardy, but with the right investment, local filmmaking can produce movies that both boost national pride and the economy.