The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Cars have been best friends with humans for more than 100 years. It has been one of the most loved transport and is widely used across the globe. The technology of designing cars has been actively developed which affected the number of cars to grow rapidly. Nearly 29 million vehicles are there in the year 2000 of Britain. One voice that has been heard world-widely is that the number of cars on the road should be decreased. This idea is suggested due to some worldwide issues that are caused by the overuse of cars. Some people say that cars are one of the main factors of air pollution, therefore they must be replaced with other transports such as bicycle, or on foot. Another suggestion is that new laws should be created about the people owning and using cars. Stronger restrictions on the allowance of these factors would help in removing dangerous and unnecessary cars such as under aged person driving, or illegal and unpermitted cars on the road. I agree that cars have critical responsibility on air pollution, therefore it should be reduced to create a more clean and safe atmosphere. For short distances, people should be encouraged to use eco-friendly transports, rather than having a 5-minute drive. However, this does not mean that they should not use cars at all. Cars are can be partially replaced but not fully, since we cannot walk from Auckland to Wellington! I also support introducing introduce international laws over car ownership and the use of it. Appropriate purpose and the usage of a car would contribute towards creating safer roads for all of us.