Surveillance cameras in banks, officers, shops and streets have been very successful in reducing crime in the workplace and in public, but they are also a tool for their users to spy on people private business. What problems do the use of surveillance cameras create? Is there any solution?

The progress in modern technology has completely transformed, how criminals are monitored. In the modern era, surveillance cameras are commonly used everywhere to alleviate the crime rate. But this creates a lot of other problems. I have a mixed opinion on this issue as there are both pros and cons of using surveillance cameras. To begin with, the primary concern of the public is the privacy issue by the usage of surveillance cameras. For example, Edward Snowden, an American cybersecurity expert, who worked for NSA, revealed in 2013 how the surveillance programs were conducted to gather people personal data. Moreover, another concern is the data breach. We have seen events in the past where databases of government, as well as private organizations, were hacked and that data was sold on the dark web exposing the weakness of surveillance programs. On the other hand, there are a lot of advantages of surveillance that cannot be neglected. Due to surveillance, the crime rate has been reduced to a minimum level over the last few years. For example, research depicts the decrease in the number of terror activities around the globe and all the credit goes to the complex system of surveillance. Another fascinating feature is that the law enforcement agencies capture the criminal, even before the crime by assessing its suspicious activities via cameras. For example, a terrorist was captured due to his suspicious activities by a CCTV camera, he was not aware of that eventually protect us from massive destruction. To conclude, the government should take some concrete steps to eradicate the confusion. Plus,to alleviate the crime rate, surveillance is necessary in the modern world. However, the government should try to enforce the rules and regulations concerning privacy or other related issues.