International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

International tourism brings multiple advantages, such as economic growth to several places around the world. However, it raises some concerns and negative effects as well, for example, the contamination of nature. In this essay, both sides of the coin will be discussed and analysed. On one hand, touristry as a business has brought multiple benefits to hundred of places, specially when talking about economic growth of those areas. There are entire countries which depend highly on tourism, this is the case of Spain, where businesses related to travelling account for up to 40% of the whole income of the nation. Besides, when a place is considered as a popular touristic destination, it is almost sure that there is developed infrastructure to fulfill visitor's expectations and needs. It is also worth to note that travellers arrive with different cultures and ideas that can inspire the locals to improve their own communities. On the other hand, excesive travels might have downsides too. There is always a concern about natural sites that can be harmed by the increase in the number of travellers, this is particularly obvious in zones like beaches that end up completely full of rubish after festivals that are held around them. Another negative impact of the over exploitation of some popular areas, is the affectation of locals, a well known example is Barcelona, there, local citizens started to complain about the exagerated amount of travellers in the city, it was imposible for them to have a quiet stroll due to the noise and filthyness caused by visitors. In overall, even though, there are positive and negative consequences of international tourism, in my opinion, the benefits outweigh the disadvantages by far. The economic factor is crucial and communities can have the most from tourist if this is regulated. In fact, the downsides can be minimized by local rules to protect the environment and promote a more sustainable tourism.