The internet is a good source of information and opened up opportunities for people all over the world. Is all information reliable online?What could be done to control information online?

Undoubtedly, due to technological advancements, the Internet seen as a key source of information and also acts as an opportunistic for the individuals. However, all the information available on the internet is not trustworthy and pragmatic laws ought to be passed to maintain it. The content available on the internet is acceptable up to certain limit, but, it is undeniable that the information present on the website lacks the important references for which people usually look forward to. To elaborate, these days many people around the globe have rights to edit the content whether they have knowledge about the subject or not, and this ultimately leaves them without any reference. To illustrate this, Wikipedia, one of the most cited sites by many individuals has given access to its users to redraft the content which already exists. However, these troubles can be encountered by the officials of the technology department. They can play a crucial role in removing the unnecessary information which is posted on different media, either YouTube or google or etc. Moreover, strict penalties should be imposed on the individual who is posting the content which is incorrect. For instance, Google, a reputed organization has always had the security questions asked to the writer before submitting the data. Hence, whenever an individual type in any keyword, the details which pop up are authority sites that have been rechecked before posting it online by the fact-checkers. To conclude, although I agree that the internet is reliable to some extent, I believe that the authorized sites have much authenticity of the information. Also these problems can be mitigated by the government officials and recruitment of social network fact-checkers.