Due to increase use of aeroplane, air pollution is increasing more and more airports are constructed. Some people say that government should reduce air traffic by taxing it heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

Airways are the modern form of transport for people to move from one place to another as it reduces time, money and energy. Certain group argue that airways are causing more air pollution than ever before but I strongly disagree with this statement and in this essay, I will support my opinion with examples. Firstly, aeroplanes are not the predominant cause of air pollution. For example, think of it this way, if people were forced to use roadways for moving thousands of miles then imagine the cost of fuel and time wasted towards that. Also, imposing a tax would lead to the usage of airways only by elites which would not be a great idea. Moreover, increasing tax would put significant stress on Indian tourism as individuals would prefer touring with other means of transport. Another reason why I disagree is that, if pollution is the problem, we need to resort to ways in which we could curb the environmental damage, instead of imposing a tax on airfare. For example, now the government is promoting and giving subsidy for electric and batter cars to reduce carbon foot print. Similarly, investment should be made more into the research of finding an alternate fuel for aircraft and thereby reducing the toxic in air and save the environment as well. Finally, the modern style of transport is causing some environmental problems but the solution would be to find an alternative way to overcome the issue with advanced technology and solutions. Raising the tax would eventually put a hole in common man's pocket and will put the country on the back foot rather than developing further.