In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

From the beginning of the age of industrialization, development in railways expansion, as well as train capacity and efficiency, have become the markers of modern civilization. While a considerable number of people perceives the construction of expedite travelling to be a more worthwhile investment, others believe that the government budget should be allocated to the enhancement of traditional transportation. Consequently, I support both projects to be executed by the government as they are equally important to elevate people's standard of living. Nevertheless, improvement of the existing public transportation should slightly be prioritised owing to their current foundation and accessibility. High-speed trains are widespread and popular invested in many developed countries after they have excelled in establishing an effective network of precedent shipment. The fast trains reduce the time of travel across the country while decorated with comfortable facilities, such as the adjustable chairs and the personal digital television screens, making the journey more entertained and less tedious. In Japan, after making an exemplary out of its remarkable trains track system, Shikanzen, or a bullet-head train, was heavily budgeted to create to carry passengers and materials to their destination with higher velocity. On the other hand, an enhancement of traditional transport is reckoned to be a prerequisite to a building for fast trains due to its existing foundation and local familiarity. Traditional trains systems, buses and boats are the long-established public transports in many countries, including Thailand. While novel methods of travelling are intriguingly expensive and strangers to the local population, the existing ones are usually affordable and accustomed to. Therefore, renovating the old transits, it likely to benefit the majority of the population who already commuting using these transits on the daily basis. In summary, this essay argues that even though the benefit of fast track movement is appealing, the betterment of the established transport system yields more immediate and advantageous impacts on the people.