International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

The tourism industry has been revolutionising local economies for last fifty years; however, this also leads to some problems to both native people and their surroundings. I personally believe that the trade has more benefits than its minor issues. Admittedly, when a large number of tourists visit an environmentally delicate place causes some damages to the site. The main reason for this is that the lack of security systems, but currently most of the such areas are covered not only security guards but surveillance cameras, for example. Due to this, those committing crimes are captured and punished accordingly. Similarly, it has been also noted that there are some mixing of foreign cultures into the local one, and this is considered as a cultural erosion. I feel this integration is essential as people become less hostile towards other nationalities. Despite the above-mentioned drawbacks, I firmly consider tourism is a highly promising industry which uplifts locals as well as the area as a whole. Firstly, when visitors flock into a remote village due to its natural beauty, the government tend to construct new infrastructures to offer better facilities to travellers. For instance, local vendors, farmers and business persons could sell their products and generate a sustainable amount of income. Eventually, the community and its members experience their lives has been flourished astonishingly. In conclusion, the growth of world tourism brings some tensions in the mind of some people, and they are concerned about the development may damage local people’ life and their surrounding nature. However, I strongly believe that even though there are few disadvantages, which are negligible, mostly it improves the entire area including its members.