Human activity has had a negative impact on plants and animals around the world. Some people think that this cannot be changed, while others believe actions can be taken to bring about a change. Discuss both and give your opinion.

Humans have adversely affected wildlife across the globe. It is thought by some that it is impossible to reverse this trend while there are others who believe that positive changes could be brought about with certain measures. I support the latter argument from a technological perspective. On the one hand, some people think that if thorough actions were taken, this issue could be alleviated. One reason for this is the technological advances, which have allowed humans to reduce the amount of damage to the environment. For instance, cleaner methods of energy production such as biomass, which did not exist in the past, have helped improve air and water quality, thus saving habitats of plant and animal species. Environmentally friendly practises like this will become more prevalent in the future as the technology further develops, and therefore the negative impact on wildlife would be mitigated. On the other hand, others claim that this situation could not be changed as industrial activities have been destroying natural areas at an alarming rate despite technological development. Even though technology has enabled people to live life in a more ecological way, the problem of habitat destruction has been exacerbated over the years, which indicates that the downsides of technology outweigh the benefits to animals. This point is highlighted by the fact that in 2020, 40 animals and plants were added to the IUCN Red List as endangered species. Finally, my own view is that positive changes could occur through the utilisation of the internet. Although technology has had an adverse effect on nature in terms of construction and manufacturing, the advancement of information technology, which is relatively new, would certainly improve the situation around animal and plant species. With the help of the internet, governments, private organisations and individuals can easily share information and therefore awareness about this issue as well as positive practises would spread quickly in the future. A good example of this is Facebook, which has had more than a million posts about animal welfare since its creation, successfully raising awareness about this issue. In conclusion, I feel that the situation detrimental to animals and plants could be improved. It is crucial that each of us take responsibility to improve animal welfare.