Many people say that universities should only offer places to young students with the highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

We are living in an era where scores and grades determine the future of youngsters. Most parents focus on training their children to top the class while ignoring their other talents and areas of interest. In addition to this most colleges and universities pick students with high grades, putting the rest of the crowd behind.Though this process has been practised for the well being of the students and the educational institution, it certainly has some negative impacts. The below paragraphs will discuss both views of the topic. Having only toppers and achievers studying in their institute is an institution's pride. It inflates the fame and recognition of a college without any promotions and advertisements. While this is on the university's side, parents also feel extremely proud and elated to have their children study in renowned institutions. It is also comparatively easier for youngsters to find jobs with high paid salaries when their resume holds a study from a famous university. Sometimes they are even exempted from attending the first and second rounds of interviews assuming they are already qualified for the job. Multinational companies have tie-ups with these institutes,thereby bypassing the recruitment process. For example, tech companies like Amazon, Facebook have contracts with academies like IIT's and IIM's to recruit 50% of employees from their institutions. This certainly resolves the problem of unemployment. Apart from the aforementioned aspects, preference for toppers certainly impacts the lives of the average and below-average pupils. Some colleges support sports quotas during the process of enrollment. These benefits youngsters who shine in other fields of education even if they do not do well in their studies. Society must be made aware of personalities like Sachin Tendulkar and Mark Zuckerberg who were school and college dropouts but are amongst the most successful persons in life. Universities should give equal opportunities to graduates who are talented in areas other than studies,despite their age. Providing admissions to such juniors and seeing them grow as famous personalities will also bring in laurels to the institute. For example, a person who lacks cognitive thinking might be an expert when it comes to linguistic and communication skills. Thereby, I voice for students who are ignored and put aside by educational institutions because of their underperformance and age factors. I think they should also be given admissions in top universities based on their area of interest. This will contribute towards having an environment with varied performers and achievers.