Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that the tourist industry has significantly advanced over the past decades which has resulted in an increasing number of tourists visiting countries overseas. It is claimed by some that it causes detrimental effects to the local environment while others are convinced that visited areas can profit from the instant seasonal influx. In the essay I will examine the positive and negative aspects surrounding the question. One of the most obvious advantages of tourism is the income it generates. It gives job opportunities for locals and enhances commercial activities like the sale of local cuisines, handicrafts, and other locally-made products. It solves the unemployment crisis to a greater extent. The more travelers arrive, the more this progress occurs. Apart from obvious benefits, there are some problems are needed to be taken into consideration. The visible black mark is the environmental damage. In order to attract more sightseer, areas that were once pristine are suddenly filled with luxury hotels and resorts. As a consequence, visitors themselves may pollute the area with their litter while their ignorance of local culture might cause offence. In addition, the need for a clean water supply and a good transport system also takes its toll and inevitably leads to an imbalance of the ecological system by means of vehicle emissions. To conclude, I believe that that the plus points of tourism outweigh the drawbacks and many countries would not have survived without it.